The crowd went silent as Australia won the Cricket World Cup for a record-extending sixth time. Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne combined in a 192-run partnership to chase down the target of 241, leaving India struggling to keep up. After wobbling on 47-3 after seven overs, Head and Labuschagne helped Australia regain its status as the king of one-day international cricket.

India, who had won all ten of their previous matches, were seeking their third trophy in their fourth appearance in a title match. Despite playing well, India was outperformed by Australia in every department. Head’s performance made him only the seventh player to score a century in a men’s World Cup final and delivered a significant moment in India’s innings when taking a diving catch.

Australia finished the tournament with nine straight wins after starting with back-to-back defeats to India and South Africa. This victory marked India’s last major success in cricket, as they had previously won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011. The final match was played at the world’s largest cricket venue and ended with fireworks lighting up the night sky.

By Editor

Leave a Reply