Jeffers’ Ashton Kunishige drives about a Lake Linden-Hubbell defender through the Division four District 98 championship game Friday at the Jeffers Fitness center. (David Archambeau/For the Gazette)

LAKE LINDEN — This year’s Copper Mountain Conference All-Conference boys basketball awards reads substantially like a beginning lineup for a Jeffers Jets game. The MHSAA Division four group was the most effective boys group in the location with a 21-1 record. Their only loss came from the Escanaba Eskymos (72-68 in OT) – a Division two group that competes at two levels (or college sizes) greater in sports than the Jets.

Top this year’s CMC Elite Group was junior Levi Frahm. He was named Player of the Year by the conference coaches. In the district finals final Friday, Frahm poured an astounding 36 points and was 19-21 from the absolutely free throw line.

“That’s why he is Player of the Year,” mentioned his coach, John Schutz, who was named CMC’s Coach of the Year. “He is a leader for us on and off the floor.”

Frahm averaged additional than 20 points per game. He pulled in eight rebounds, contributed five.five assists and brought in three.five steals per game. Add to that that truth that Frahm sunk his 1,000th profession point late in the season, and he is only a junior.

Joining Frahm with best accolades have been senior teammates Tavin Larson and Ashton Kunishige. They have been honored as Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Each averaged about two steals a game.

“Tavin and Ashton perform tough evening in and evening out to win games for us,” mentioned Schutz. “(Come game time,) I place them on our opponent’s toughest guys, and it is a formula that appears to be functioning.”

The Jets have been named Group of the Year as effectively.

“We’ve been blessed with a lot of talent this year,” added Schutz. “We are a group of ten players deep, not just 5 starters and some bench players. Every person is anticipated to compete and play tough when they get in there, and they do.”

Also joining Frahm on the CMC’s Elite Group have been junior Asher Garrison, of Watersmeet, junior Gabe Popko, of Lake Linden-Hubbell, junior Matthew Schutz, of Jeffers, senior Amos Norland, of Dollar Bay-Tamarack City, and senior Antonio DelFavero, of Wakefield-Marenisco.

1st Group honors for the Copper Nation Division went to Frahm, Popko, Norland, Matthew Schutz, and L’Anse senior Shawn Gibbons.

In the Porcupine Mountain Division 1st Group accolades went to Garrison, DelFavero, senior Rukus Betlewsk, of Ironwood sophomore Austin Gordon, of Ewen-Trout Creek and Cody Dabb, senior from Ironwood.

Second Group honors for the Copper Nation Division went to Baraga senior Daniel Nieskes, Kunishge, Larson, Dollar Bay freshman Liam Tourtillot, and Lakes junior Matt Len.

The roster for the Second Group in the Porcupine Mountain Division incorporated senior Bryce Buzzo, of Ontonagon senior Tyson Klingman, of Watersmeet senior Leo Imhoff, of Wakefield-Marenisco sophomore Axton Routsala, of Ironwood and Aiden Boyd, senior from Ironwood.

On the Honorable Mention Group for the Copper Nation Division have been Easton Foucault, of L’Anse Fisher Raisanen, of Republic Michigamme Chase Benson, of Dollar Bay, Sam Dyer, of Republic-Michigamme and Chassell’s Kalvin Kytta.

On the Honorable Mention group for the Porcupine Mountain Division have been Wakefield- Marenisco’s Connor Johnson Brandon Romensko, of Watersmeet Easton Legualt, of Ewen-Trout Creek Caden Besonen, of Ewen-Trout Creek Daniel Lis, of Bessemer and Abi Pestka, of Ontonagon.

Today’s breaking news and additional in your inbox

By Editor

Leave a Reply