Board composition decided during Fortum’s general meeting

Fortum, an energy company, announced the election of nine individuals to its board during a recent general meeting. Mikael Silvennoinen was elected as chairman, Essimari Kairisto as vice president, and Ralf Christian, Luisa Delgado, Jonas Gustavsson, Marita Niemelä, Prank Paavola, Johan Söderström, and Vesa-Pekka Takala as board members. The state had previously decided to give up its board seat in Fortum, which would take effect in January with the departure of Maia Strandberg.

During the general meeting, several key decisions were made to ensure the smooth functioning and governance of Fortum moving forward. The board members and CEO for 2023 were granted discharge from liability for the 2023 financial year. Additionally, a dividend of EUR 1.15 per share was approved. The general meeting also authorized the board to decide on the acquisition of the company’s own shares, with a maximum of 20 million shares to be acquired. This authorization included the transfer of 20 million shares as well.

Overall, these decisions by the general meeting aimed to set Fortum up for continued success and efficient operations in the future. With new board members in place and authorization granted for various actions, the company is well-positioned to continue its mission as an energy leader in Finland and beyond.

By Samantha Johnson

As a content writer at, I craft engaging and informative articles that aim to captivate readers and provide them with valuable insights. With a background in journalism and a passion for storytelling, I thoroughly enjoy delving into diverse topics, conducting research, and producing compelling content that resonates with our audience. From breaking news pieces to in-depth features, I strive to deliver content that is both accurate and engaging, constantly seeking to bring fresh perspectives to our readers. Collaborating with a talented team of editors and journalists, I am committed to maintaining the high standards of journalism upheld by our publication.

Leave a Reply